MUSIC IS MY MOMMA

Momma isn’t momma just because of blood/ A momma is a momma when she gives you love

A momma is a momma when she holds your hand/ And makes sure you know that momma always understands

You know that momma loves you when she dries your eyes/ And a momma takes out anyone who makes you cry

A momma is a light in the darkest night/ A candle in the caverns of your deepest, darkest fright

My momma never really been a momma to me/ Hell, my momma isn’t even my family

The only momma that ever really momma-ed me/ Is the music that has always been kin to me

Yeah, my guts are made of music and my soul is made of sound/ The rhythm in my feet is just my bones rattlin’ around

Music is my momma and she’s always been/ My comfort, my love, my dearest friend

My power, my protector, my beloved kin

Music is my momma though we never shared blood/ Music is my momma cause it gave me love

Music is my momma cause it held my hand/ And music always showed me that it understands

Music was my momma when it dried my eyes/ And drowned out anybody who makes me cry

Yeah, music is a light in the darkest night/ A candle in the caverns of my deepest, darkest fright

Music never tried to manipulate me/ Music never told me that the world would hate me

Music never beat me/ Music never lied/ Music never told me I was Satan’s child

Yeah, my guts are made of music and my soul is made of sound/ The rhythm in my feet is just my bones rattlin’ around

Music is my momma and she’s always been/ My comfort, my love, my dearest friend

My power, my protector, my beloved kin

You can be my sisters; you can be my brothers/ If the momma you were born to wasn’t ever a mother

And if you gotta good momma, but your poppa ain’t there/ music is your poppa, when your poppa don’t care

Yeah, we’re brothers and we’re sisters if the truth rings true/ That music is your poppa and your momma too

Leave a Reply

